Skip to content

Rockin the Fifth Percentile

Saturday August 28, 2010

Yesterday we saw Dr. Wonderful (I LOVE this man) for Yogi’s first pediatrician appointment and he is looking great.  Here’s the rundown:

At 12 days old, the Yogi is

  • 6 lbs, 5 ozs (5th percentile)
  • 20 inches long (40th percentile)
  • 13 inch head circumference (3rd percentile)

I officially have a tiny baby.  This is hugely entertaining to me as I come from a very tall family.  At 5’8″, I am a runt.  I am fairly certain that no one in my family has ever been anywhere near the 5th percentile.  My wife is pretty tiny herself, so I guess it’s time for me to get used to being the giant in the family.

He is up 3 oz (thanks T)  from his birth weight and in spite of some over-attachment to the nipple shield, he’s a good eater.  Soon I hope to post more about the birth and our transition home.  Maybe after a nap…..

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Saturday August 28, 2010 8:35 pm

    3 lbs from birth or 3 oz???? I didn’t think he was *that* small at birth… am I nuts?

    Hooray for the growing Yogi!

  2. Sunday August 29, 2010 8:40 am

    So cute! Those percentiles may change a lot in the first year, so don’t sweat it. We always thought we’d have a tiny guy, and ours ended up being in the 75-85th height percentiles (and we’re 5’1 and 5’2 yeesh)

Leave a Reply

